Can An Old Dog Learn New Tricks?

Social media is completely new to me.  I do not blog, tweet or Facebook  –  but I want to learn.  When I attended university, the word processing program of choice was Wordstar.   You can see this cutting-edge program pictured below:

A different world!

*Photo taken from Computer Desktop Encyclopedia @2006 The Computer Language Company.

 Which leads me to why I am taking this course…

This course is about using social media to better engage our audiences.  I hope to find out what our audiences are interested in and use this information to design programs to engage them in a meaningful way.     Social media is exciting to me for a few reasons:   it allows for instant two-way communication where we need to talk and we need to listen to be effective and  its immediacy allows us to adjust and re-adjust our approach quickly if our current plan isn’t working.

My goal by the end of this course is to feel comfortable using social media.  I would like to use it effectively at both work and home and with two boys approaching their teen years, I need to know what all of those slang letters mean…lol.

Here are three burning questions I would like to be able to answer by the end of this semester:

  1. What does an effective blog or tweet consist look like?
  2. What techniques can I use to reach my target audience?
  3. How do I know which social medium is the best one to use in different circumstances?

Here is an article I found when I looked for companies who are the best at using social media:

http://mashable.com/2009/02/06/social-media-smartest-brands/

I would like to ask the following question to my classmates:

In your opinion, what company is the best at using social media effectively and can you tell me about it?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Can An Old Dog Learn New Tricks?

  1. Hi Kat! That’s funny you mention online slang – I just read a small article in yesterday’s Spec that was talking about it, and there were some that I didn’t know. It’s amazing how fast things change and catch on!

Leave a Reply

